Work from Home Job Predators Busy Again
Thursday April 5, 2007
My email inbox has been overflowing this week from phony work from home job offers. Some of the messages are coming from job sites where I have information posted, but my contact information is private. I can tell that's where they're coming from because they carry a return adress such as "noreply@careerbuilder.com" or "noreply@site.careerbuilder.com". In many cases, the return address is a free mail service - like hotmail or even gmail.com. Subject lines include:
Most of these work from home job offers say they are offering a job that entails these types of duties:
The sad part of all of this is that there are plenty of people out there looking for a work from home opportunity that might get desperate and actually respond by providing their personal information in a registration form. In fact, I received an email from a reader who was looking to work from home as a virtual assistant and who decided to post her availability on Craig's List:
I have a feeling that even though I'd be very good at it (due to my inclination to take charge and run things and being methodical, organized and driven) I don't quite understand the premise. I did get one reply to the posting from England regarding money transfers for new business startup here and Canada. That is over my head!
I told her she was lucky she thought such a work from home position was over her head instead of falling for the scam and revealing her personal information or getting involved in something illegal.
What type of phony work from home job offers have you been getting? Have you ever taken the bait and been burned as a result? I encourage you to leave your comments here so others can avoid the same work from home job scam and, hopefully, instead of feeling like an offer might be "over your head", my readers will learn to recognize these scams for what they really are.
Related topics:
- Transaction Operations Manager position is available now!
- Open vacancies from ...
- Work with us.Earn 2
- Great job opportunity. Earn 2 (Yes, they were the same job offer with two different AOL email reply addresses)
- CareerBuilder.com Job Matches:Express yourself fully at this type of job
- CareerBuilder.com Job Matches:Great source of income (Very similar job offer - two different "companies" in which only the first letter of the company name was changed)
- CareerBuilder.com Job Matches:Take part in this employment process
- sales manager
- Job application with ...!
Most of these work from home job offers say they are offering a job that entails these types of duties:
- "receive customer's payments/transfers to his/her bank account,"
- "transfer the payments/transfers to the company's address,"
- "keep tracks on all transactions done using his/her bank account"
The sad part of all of this is that there are plenty of people out there looking for a work from home opportunity that might get desperate and actually respond by providing their personal information in a registration form. In fact, I received an email from a reader who was looking to work from home as a virtual assistant and who decided to post her availability on Craig's List:
I have a feeling that even though I'd be very good at it (due to my inclination to take charge and run things and being methodical, organized and driven) I don't quite understand the premise. I did get one reply to the posting from England regarding money transfers for new business startup here and Canada. That is over my head!
I told her she was lucky she thought such a work from home position was over her head instead of falling for the scam and revealing her personal information or getting involved in something illegal.
What type of phony work from home job offers have you been getting? Have you ever taken the bait and been burned as a result? I encourage you to leave your comments here so others can avoid the same work from home job scam and, hopefully, instead of feeling like an offer might be "over your head", my readers will learn to recognize these scams for what they really are.
Related topics:


Comments
I just got a job offer from a “First Financial USA” which allegedly processes credit card payments. First I received a call over the phone I offered in my resume and then came an email to an email I also had in my resume at Yahoo Hot Jobs – really hot, but the best is to investigate your employer (offer) no matter what, and you will be surprised how the list drastically narrows to the real legit employers.
Job seekers are better off searching directly at employer’s websites rather than posting their resumes at whatever job-database such as Yahoo Hot Jobs, CareerBuilder, or worse, Craigslist. They all are closing one eye to spam, and keeping the other open to check on balance from their advertisers, otherwise profiting or capitalizing ugly, they would be undercover behind a non-profit shield or unregistered .org webpage, still, nothing guaranteed if these also would have a good bite on the spam profit cake and email listing sales.
Here the email of an old-new kid on the block (they have a webpage and affiliations! Guess why!) Don’t go work for them, you will be paying to work… be warned.
Better read a good book or video like “Catch me if you can” and find out the mechanisms that make such scam business still work = because they get on little bites that no one would want to claim in small claim courts and too proud are to do so.
Here the proof in the pudim, find the red flags!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
From: Human Resources
Sent: Tue, 26 May 2009 9:08 am
Subject: Your Hotjobs resume viewed May 25, 2009
Your resume came to our attention recently and your background appears to match other highly successful members of our team who are motivated to build a career over the next 3-4 years.
First Financial is an 14 year old financial services firm specializing in payment processing services for retail and medical merchants. Currently we serve thousands of merchants with over 100 sales professionals nationwide.
You owe it to yourself to take a few minutes exploring the First Financial site to find out more about this unique career opportunity. We are looking for a limited number of sales professionals to add to our growing team.
Click here and you will be directed to a website that gives you more detail about the position and an opportunity to schedule a time to ask questions.
We look forward to hearing from you!
Melinda Hanson
First Financial Human Resources Representative
805 Meander Ct
Medina, MN 55340
I just received the same form letter email, how ridiculous..a chiseller just ticks me off. What a waste of time, and I feel bad for those not shrewd enough to google or research these things! bah!
Leslie:
Thanks for chiming in. Considering that this was posted two and a half years ago, doesn’t say much for “progress” in weeding out these jokers, does it? Makes me sick too.
Randy D.